Hometown History (Jamestown Post-Journal)

The Hometown History articles are featured each Friday in the Jamestown Post-JournalLook for several printable PDF versions at the conclusion of this page.  Additional articles can be found in the Blog section.

Saturday, May 20, 2017: Hometown History: The Mysterious Historian By Norman P. Carlson, Fenton History Center Collections Manager

Saturday, May 13, 2017: Hometown History: A Piece of 1811 By Norman P. Carlson, Fenton History Center Collections Manager

Saturday, May 6, 2017: Hometown History: One Day in the Life of the Fenton History Center Research Center and Museum By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday April 29,  2017: Hometown History: Advertisement Giveaways By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, April 15, 2017: Hometown History: The Battle of Vimy Ridge: 100 Years Ago By Steven A Johnson, Fenton History Center Trustee and Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Sunday, April 2, 2017: Hometown History: Riding the Rails By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Saturday, April 1, 2017: Hometown History: Scrapbook Surprises By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday March 11, 2017: Hometown History: Support Your Local Fire Department By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, March 4, 2017: Hometown History: Fire! In Downtown Jamestown By Karen E Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Saturday, February 18, 2017: Hometown History, Fur History By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Archivist

Saturday, February 11, 2017: Hometown History: Early Dry Cleaning By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Sunday, February 5, 2017, Hometown History: The Derby Block By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, January 28, 2017, Hometown History: 103 ½ W. Third Street:  A Sweet Story By Karen E. Livsey, Archivist

Saturday, January 21, 2017: Hometown History:  “A Merchant, a Barber and a Dentist Walked into a Building…” By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, January 14, 2017: Hometown History: An Empty Envelope’s Story By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, January 7, 2017: Hometown History: More Than One Story By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist  

Wednesday, January 4, 2017: Hometown History: Who was Lillian G. Dickson? By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Tuesday, January 3, 2017: Hometown History: The Old Post Office By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

>Saturday, December 24, 2016: Hometown History: Postage History By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Sunday, December 18, 2016: Hometown History: Snail Mail History By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Friday, December 9, 2016: Hometown History: Family Stories Around the Table By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist 

Saturday, November 26, 2016: Hometown History: Unidentified Memories By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, November 12, 2016: Hometown History: Military Service Ribbons By Steven A. Johnson, Fenton History Center Trustee and Veteran

Saturday, November 5, 2016: Hometown History: Beaded Pincushions By Pheobe Forbes, Fenton History Center Textile Curator 

Sunday, October 30, 2016: Hometown History: Jamestown’s Music Study Club Anniversary By Victoria Parker, Fenton History Center Collections Assistant

Saturday, October 29, 2016: Hometown History: When Smokers Ruled By Norman P. Carlson, Fenton History Center Collections Manager

Saturday, October 15, 2016 Hometown History: JHS History By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, October 1, 2016: Hometown History: Hazeltine History By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Wednesday, September 28, 2016: Hometown History: How to Build a Cemetery Tour By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, September 17, 2016: Hometown History: The First Oil Boom? By Norman P. Carlson, Fenton HIstory Center Collections Manager

Wednesday, September 14, 2016: Hometown History: Clues In the Background By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, September 3, 2016: Hometown History: Secret Plane by Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, August 27, 2016: Hometown History: 1942: Planning Ahead By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, August 20, 2016: Hometown History: Stocking the Fenton’s Shelves (King Gustav’s Crispbread) By Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, August 13, 2016: Hometown History: Timeless Music by Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

Saturday, August 6, 2016: Hometown History: A Variety of Invitations by Karen E. Livsey, Fenton History Center Archivist

The following printable PDF articles are available for download:

If you have trouble viewing the following PDF links, try viewing them with FireFox.

Find FireFox Here.

A Flag from the Ladies of Chautauqua County

Allen Opera House Poster

Before Fancher Chair